Tinubu appoints new RECs for Lagos, Rivers, seven others⁣

dfe tinubu signs

President Bola Tinubu on Wednesday appointed nine new Resident Electoral Commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commission for a term of five years each, subject to the confirmation by the Senate. ⁣

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale, disclosed this in a statement titled ‘President Tinubu appoints nine INEC resident electoral commissioners.’⁣

They include Mr. Isah Ehimeakne (Edo State), Mr. Bamidele Agbede (Ekiti State), Mr. Jani Bello (Gombe State), Dr. Taiye Ilayasu (Kwara State), Dr. Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos State).⁣

Others are Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa State), Prof. Mohammed Yalwa (Niger State), Dr. Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers State) and Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara State). ⁣

Wednesday’s appointments are by the powers vested in the Office of the President “by Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999, Amended) and Section 6 of the Electoral Act (2022),” Ngelale noted. ⁣

Tinubu said he expects the new appointees to “abide by the highest standards of professional and ethical conduct in the discharge of their duties, in accordance with his determination to facilitate the establishment of a new and sustainable standard of transparent, fair and conflict-free electoral conduct in Nigeria.” ⁣

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

Back to top button