Bayelsa election: Rowdy session at collation centre as Sylva wins Brass LG

ded syla bayels x

Bayelsa election: Rowdy session at collation centre as Sylva wins Brass LG

Timipre Sylva, APC governorship candidate at Bayelsa governorship election voting at his polling unit 4 in Okpoama, Brass Local Government Area.

Published By: Ayorinde Oluokun

Confusion and chaos rock the Governorship Election Collation Centre in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State on Monday afternoon as agents of political parties bickered over results declared for the Brass Local Government Area.

Timipre Sylva, the candidate of the APC won in the local government.

The confusion was set off after the agent of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP complained that he was not aware or informed when the collation of the results for the Brass local government was done.

But he was opposed by the All Progressives Congress, APC agent who noted that unlike for the other local governments which were strongholds of the PDP, the results of the Brass Local Government were collated in Yenagoa.

However, trouble began when an Accord agent at the Centre accused APC of engaging in malpractices and violence during the election. This led to fisticuffs between him and the APC agent and the police officers had to intervene to stop the rowdy situation from snowballing into a full fight between agents at the centre.

However, the collation of results adjourned for another hour as the result for the last local government – Southern Ijaw was not available

  • How APC thugs assaulted me, stole my $1000 – Imo LP Chairman
  • Diri coasting home to victory, leads Sylva with 64,402 votes with 2 LGs left
  • Kogi election: APC’s Ododo thrashes Dino Melaye at home

Collation of results of Saturday’s governorship election in Bayelsa resumed on Monday morning with the declaration of results from Brass, the seventh local government to be declared.

Sylva scored 18, 413 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Governor Douye Diri who scored 12, 602 in the election.

With his victory in Brass, Slyva has now won in two of the seven local governments where the results of the election have been declared so far.

Diri, who is seeking a second term, is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party and has won in Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Sagbama and Ekeremor local governments.

Timipre Sylva has won in Nembe and Brass

Back to top button