Bayelsa Guber: The Labour Party, SDP, NNPP, NRM, and PRP all reject the INEC results

The Labour Party, LP, Social Democratic Party, SDP, New Nigeria Peoples Party, NNPP, National Rescue Movement, NRM, and Peoples Redemption Party, PRP have all rejected the results of the November 11 governorship elections in Bayelsa State, which were won by Senator Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Addressing a joint news conference in Yenagoa shortly after the winner was declared, political parties represented by state chairmen and state party collation agents claimed that the election was marred by the bypassing of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System, BVAS, the cancellation of results already uploaded on the IREV, and other alleged irregularities.

Those who addressed the conference include, LP State Collation Centre Party Agent, Dr Charles Oyibo, State Chairman of SDP, Allen Domotimi, State Chairman of NNPP, Dr. Joel Tubonimi, Collation Centre Agent of NRM, Chief William Parker, and State Chairman of PRP, Okala Azibola.

The aggrieved party chieftains who called on the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, to review the outcome of the elections, argued that the number of cancelled votes is bigger than the difference between the winner and the runner-up.

Back to top button