JUST-IN: Gov Diri Wins Bayelsa Guber Poll

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate in the off-cycle Bayelsa State governorship election, Senator Douye Diri, has won the Saturday, November 11, 2023 election.

Following the compilation of election results from each of the State’s eight local government districts on Monday afternoon, Diri’s resounding victory became clear.

The state’s Returning Officer, Prof. Faruq Kuta, declared that the exercise had come to an end as he was scheduled to formally announce the election winner later. The final phase of collation began on Monday at about 12:42 p.m., approximately 48 hours after the election held in the oil-rich South-South State.

According to our correspondent, All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate Timipre Sylva, the closest opponent of incumbent Governor Diri, lost the poll in six of the state’s eight local government districts.

The LGAs include Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenegoa, Sagbama, Nembe, Ekeremor, Brass, and Southern Ijaw.

The PDP candidate won the election with a margin of 65,088 votes ahead of his APC counterpart and others trailing far behind.

Back to top button