McClellan endorses Virginia state senator to replace Wexton

Rep. Jennifer McClellan (D-Va.) endorsed Virginia state Sen. Jennifer Boysko’s (D) bid for the state’s tenth congressional district on Thursday, becoming the first member from Virginia’s delegation to endorse in the race to replace Rep. Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.). 

“With extreme MAGA Republicans pushing for dangerous and divisive policies that put women and families at risk, Virginia needs tenacious leaders that never back down. That’s why I’m endorsing Jennifer Boysko for Congress,” McClellan said in a statement exclusively released to The Hill. 

“Working with her in the Virginia General Assembly, I saw firsthand how Jennifer is the relentless fighter we need in Congress to protect reproductive freedoms, stand up to the NRA to address gun violence, and always put Virginia’s working families first,” the congresswoman continued. “Jennifer has worked tirelessly to solve problems for Northern Virginia families, and she’ll do the same for us in Congress.”

Wexton announced in September that she would not seek reelection in 2024, citing health challenges. Earlier last year Wexton announced she had been diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease and said she hoped to serve on Capitol Hill for “many years to come.” However, Wexton later said her diagnosis changed to progressive supranuclear palsy (PSP), which she described as “Parkinson’s on steroids.” 

Boysko formally jumped into the race to replace Wexton in November following her election victory in Virginia’s 33rd state Senate district. 

The Democratic primary to replace Wexton will likely be more competitive than the general election. The nonpartisan Cook Political Report rates the Northern Virginia district, which is located in Loudoun County, as “likely Democrat.” 

Boysko’s entrance into the race to replace Wexton followed former Virginia state House Speaker Eileen Filler-Corn’s (D). The former state House speaker has touted an endorsement from former Virginia Attorney General Mark Herring (D), who represented the 33rd state Senate district from 2006 to 2014. 

Twelve other Democrats have announced they are running in the primary, scheduled for June 18. 

Back to top button