Afrobeats superstars Burna Boy, Rema among winners at 2024 iHeart Radio Music Awards

Burna Boy, a Nigerian music sensation, won the prestigious title of Best African Music Artist at the 2024 iHeart Radio Music Awards in the United States.

The highly anticipated event, hosted by rapper Ludacris and televised live on FOX on Monday night, saw Burna Boy reach to the top of the African music category, a huge milestone in his career.

Rema’s song ‘Calm Down’ starring Selena Gomez won Best Collaboration of the Year, adding to Nigeria’s win and establishing the country’s international music presence.

Other prominent recipients included American music icon Beyoncé, who won the iHeart Innovator Award, and veteran performer Cher, who received the iHeart Icon Award.

Taylor Swift emerged as the night’s main winner, taking home six trophies, including Artist of the Year, Pop Artist of the Year, and Best Lyrics, among others.

With their wins at the iHeart Radio Music Awards, Burna Boy and Rema now stand alongside fellow Nigerian artists Wizkid and Tems as recipients of this esteemed accolade.

Prior to his triumph at the iHeart Radio Music Awards, Burna Boy had faced disappointment at several award shows, including the BET Hip-hop Awards, Grammys, NAACP Image Awards, and Brit Awards.

However, his recent success marks a turning point in his awards trajectory, signaling a resurgence in recognition and acclaim on the global stage.

Song of the year
“Kill Bill” – SZA

Artist of the year
Taylor Swift

Duo/group of the year

Best collaboration
“Calm Down”- Rema and Selena Gomez

Producer of the year

Jack Antonoff

Songwriter of the year
Ashley Gorley

Pop song of the year (new category)
“Flowers”- Miley Cyrus

Pop artist of the year (new category)
Taylor Swift

Best new artist (Pop)
Jelly Roll

Pop album of the year

Guts – Olivia Rodrigo

Country song of the year
“Heart Like a Truck” – Lainey Wilson

Country artist of the year
Morgan Wallen

Best new artist (country)
Jelly Roll

Country album of the year
One Thing at a Time – Morgan Wallen

Hip-Hop song of the year

Back to top button