South Africa names provisional squad for Nigeria, Zimbabwe

Head coach of South Africa’s national football team, Bafana Bafana, Hugo Broos has unveiled a preliminary squad of 36 players for their upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches against Nigeria and Zimbabwe.

The fixtures will see Broos’ side take on the Super Eagles at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo on Friday, June 7. Following this, they will host Zimbabwe at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein on Tuesday, June 11, 2024.

While the Belgian coach is expected to trim down the squad to 23 players in the coming days, the initial selection includes key players such as Africa Cup of Nations’ Best Goalkeeper, Ronwen Williams, and other regulars from the bronze-winning team in Côte d’Ivoire.

The South Africa squad also features defenders Aubrey Modiba, Khuliso Mudau, Mothobi Mvala, and Thapelo Morena from Mamelodi Sundowns. In midfield, notable names include Teboho Mokoena from Mamelodi Sundowns and Sphephelo Sithole from Portuguese second division side Tondela, among others.

The attacking lineup comprises stars like Percy Tau from Al Ahly, and players from clubs like Orlando Pirates, Sundowns, and Burnley.

This 36-man South Africa provisional list will undergo further selection to finalize the squad for the matches against Nigeria and Zimbabwe. The matches are crucial for both teams as they aim to secure points and advance in the World Cup qualifying campaign.

HAVE YOU SEEN THIS: Finidi George gives players two conditions for Super Eagles invitation

Back to top button